Ipswich Corn Exchange Accessibility Review 

Emma's view from the access area at Ipswich Corn Exchange. There is a large crowd beyond the barrier in front of Emma. Microphones are just visible on stage above the crowd
Image Description: Emma's view from the access area at Ipswich Corn Exchange. There is a large crowd beyond the barrier in front of Emma. Microphones are just visible on stage above the crowd

 

(Disclaimer: I’m aware “accessibility” means different things to different people, as I said before, these are MY views on my experience of accessibility at this venue as a manual wheelchair user, I obviously can’t speak for others experiences but feel free to add your experiences in the comments!)  

 

Ticket Buying 

 

The ticket buying process was fairly simple as I just rang the access line listed on the website and booked a wheelchair space and carer ticket. There was also no need to provide proof of disability documentation, which I appreciated as I don’t really like having to send documents to hundreds of venues. 

 

Travel 

 

Travel wise, I had initially planned to take multiple trains and get a hotel (and I had that all booked). However, the combination of train strikes and a wheelchair breakdown rendering me housebound without assistance meant I relied on my lovely friend with an adapted vehicle to get me to and around the show.  

 

Experience & Seating 

 

Upon arrival at the venue, we were asked to wait to one side and then taken to a separate entrance and up in a lift. We weren’t allowed to operate this lift ourselves and so had to have someone in the lift with us specifically to operate it. It was just a standard platform lift I believe so nothing complicated but having someone else in the lift definitely made it a bit tight for space.  

 

When we made it into the venue, I noted that we were on the flat floor section but there was a specific access seating section with barriers. I also became immediately aware that the height of the stage plus the position of the access section meant that there was no way to see the stage unless you were on the front row of the section. My friend managed to squeeze me onto the front row for Frank’s set but obviously there are only so many spots on that front row of the access section, which means some in that section would not be able to have a view of the show. 

 

Also, a word on the accessible toilet situation, there is one, but it is in another platform lift and down a level from the main show room. So, you might want to try and time any toilet breaks in between bands so you can get to the back of the room, down in the slow lift and back up and back through the crowd so that you don’t miss anything. 

 

Overall, Ipswich Corn Exchange is a good venue, but it loses points for the obstructed view from the access area. As is becoming a theme of the reviews in 2024: Accessibility isn’t just about getting INTO the venue, disabled concertgoers deserve the full concert experience, which includes a decent clear view of the stage. 

 

Stay Invincible! 

Em (Invincible Woman on Wheels) 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Wheelchair Accessibility in UK Venues: Ranked From Best to Worst | Invincible Woman on Wheels

Leave a comment